Arduino Micro serial port disappears in Windows 7 device manager after reset

I am new at using the Arduino Micro R3 and have problems programming / uploading a sketch or using a sketch with serial communications. I read many postings but none solved my problem. (using Windows 7 64 - Arduino application 1.0.5)

The problem is that the serial port in windows "Device Manager" appears only for a few seconds after reset and then disappears. Device manager shows: Other devices > Arduino Micro The Hardware ID is: USB\VID_2341&PID_8037&REV_0100 USB\VID_2341&PID_8037

I can load a sketch by pressing reset on the board at the moment upload occurs. I used this step to upload the blink sketch with board type “Arduino Micro” set to ensure the Arduino Micro uses the correct device.

Also tried to update driver on the windows Device Manager > Other devices > Arduino Micro, and browse to C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\drivers Select "Next" The windows shows: "Windows was unable to install your Arduino Micro" "Windows could not find driver software for your device"

The arduino.inf (Arduino version 1.0.5 combined drivers) shows [DeviceList.NTamd64] %micro.bootloader.name%=DriverInstall, USB\VID_2341&PID_0037 %micro.sketch.name%=DriverInstall, USB\VID_2341&PID_8037&MI_00

Not sure what I am missing to have the serial always present after reboot in device manager.

The Arduino Micro requires installation of two drivers. It has two different USB drivers, one for the bootloader and the other for the sketch core software. The bootloader driver will show up for a few seconds and disappear. But then the sketch USB driver should show up afterwards. Either you have a bad sketch loaded or the sketch USB driver did not install properly.

Check your Device Manager for any unknown USB devices and try and re-install it again.