Arduino Micro vs Arduino Uno noise issues

Hi Arduino community!

I'm new to this forum. I'll shortly explain my background and some regarding my project.
I'm a Master graduate student High-Tech Engineering at the TU Delft (the Netherlands) and am currently building a linear motor that is low-cost to boost the effectiveness of additive manufacturing. I'm facing some issues with my PID control loop when switching microcontroller from the Atmega 328p (UNO) to the Atmega 32u4 (Micro).

Now I am using a Micro clone by Robotdyn, however original boards are ordered, which should come in any day.

I'm using 3 PWM pins to drive a three phase half bridge, and changed the PWM to 7.8 KHz using ICR1 and ICR3 as TOP values.

Where the control and audio from my motor seems to be noiseless for the Arduino Uno at 30Hz bandwidth, I'm facing a significant increase in noise on my Arduino micro. On the Uno I could have even increased the bandwidth frequency higher...

This is something I just can't seem to understand. I thought the Arduino Micro is more powerful and otherwise has at least similar specs to the Arduino uno. Am I wrong here? Decreasing my bandwidth frequency of my controller to 20Hz reduces the noise, but it's still present.

I'm hoping an original board fixes this, however I have my doubts, since I think it's processor related (and they all make use of the same processor, right?).

If it's true the Micro is actually performing worse than the Uno, what other small board do you recommend to use that has high performance and low delays?

Thank you for your help!

This is something I just can’t seem to understand. I thought the Arduino Micro is more powerful and otherwise has at least similar specs to the Arduino uno. Am I wrong here?

Yes, the Micro works at 16MHz using an AVR platform as does the UNO. The most important difference is that the Micro includes the USB interface in the main processor while the UNO does that in a coprocessor.