arduino+microphone+dimmer

Hi,
Just read some comments to arduino and microphone and have a question.
Im just a beginner (and a girl) and Im trying to connect simple computer microphone with arduino. I need arduino to read it and tell my leds to dim.
My project is about lighting with microphone. when it’s quiet around the lamp lights are bright,when it’s loud they dim down.
could anyone help?
cheers :wink:

Hi,

I suggest you break this problem into parts:

1. Learn how to control the brightness of LEDs. For this you’ll need to connect the LED’s (with the proper resistors) to the PWM-capable pins of the Arduino, declare those pins as output and use analogWrite on those pins to control the output. There are plenty of LED tutorials around. =)

2. Learn how to read the input from the microphone. I haven’t done this personally, but you’ll probably want to google around for a tutorial anyhow. To detect something you can probably just read it from an analog pin, but since an audio signal is not just a simple constant current voltage, it may require some trickery and/or extra hardware to do properly. Once you can read some kinds of sound levels from the microphone, first output them to the serial monitor to determine what values are the thresholds for levels you consider “loud” and “soft”.

3. Combine the two, first something simple like:

const int LOUD = your_loud_threshold_value_here;
const int SOFT = your_quiet_threshold_value_here;

int soundLevel;
const byte LED_PIN = 11; // PWM pin for your LED
int brightness;

void setup () {
   pinMode(LED_PIN, OUTPUT);
   brightness = 128;
   // insert microphone initialisation code here
}

void loop () {
   // insert code to read microphone level into "soundLevel"

if (soundLevel >= LOUD) {
      brightness -= 5;
      if (brightness < 0)
          brightness = 0;
   } else if (soundLevel <= SOFT) {
      brightness += 5;
      if (brightness > 255)
         brightness = 255;
   }
   analogWrite(LED_PIN, brightness);