arduino+microphone+stepper motor

Hi,Im a beginner with arduino. Could someone tell me how to connect a microphone to arduino and how to 'tell' it to move stepper motor according to sound volume?
I found some similar projects but have no idea how to combine command codes from different projects and what kind of stepper motor I should use. This will be connected to a bulb (high voltage).
Can anyone help me please?
xx :wink:

You may find its easiest to approach your project in two parts.

One part would be to get a stepper motor working using commands from the serial port or from a pot. Do whichever one seems easier for you.

You also need to get output from a microphone, perhaps start by using the signal (suitably amplified) to control the brightness of a led or display the level using the serial port.

You say you have found some projects for these, why not get these going first and once you have some experience with them it will be easier to think about combining them

Good luck!

Thanks a lot!
Woul you be able to tell me what kind of stepper motor I should use with arduino to make it easy for the first time? I've read some information about stepper motors but in my project I need the motor to move the shade of a lamp up and down and the distance is about 40cm. Should I use bigger size of a motor and unipolar or biopolar? Thank you.

Can you say some more about what you want to do and what characteristics matter to you.

Do you have a specific lamp in mind? How much force does it need to move it. How accurate do you need the movement? How fast?

It may also help if you explain the purpose of the project.