Arduino Midterm Project

Hello,

I am currently a college sophomore studying Design and Technology in NYC and just started working with the Arduino Uno kit this semester. While I still have a lot to learn it’s already time to decide on a midterm project. I am interested in working in a medical related field and would love to make something that could be used to help those with life altering illnesses. However, my limited experience with Arduino is making it hard to find something that fits my skill set.

Any suggestions for projects or people to research are greatly appreciated!

A good purpose for a project. If You not yet have done it, learn the basics in programming/electronics: Build small modules and make them work one at the time. Then expand Your project one more step making the next module work.
Depending on where in the world You live the needs will be different. Check institutions for disabled or cripled people and get ideas.

(deleted)

Start out by making a 'call for help' device. A button will flash a LED and sound a buzzer for a few seconds, then repeat until it's reset. Then once you have a bit of experience, you can make it send a CFH text to the appropriate recipient.

No criticism.
Keep in mind that in this type of application - the device should 'fail to safe' or 'fail to inert'
So the user is not put at risk, or alarmed by the failure mode.

In fact the data sheet on the processor in the Arduino specifically forbids the use in a system that will sustain life or endanger life if it fails.

Your aims while admirable are a bit too ambitious for one with such a small skill set.

Anyway what on Earth is a sophomore, we don’t have these in the UK. I used to be, what you would call, a professor, but in the UK they are different things.

@Grumpy...
Think of ‘sophomoric’...!

Grumpy_Mike:
In fact the data sheet on the processor in the Arduino specifically forbids the use in a system that will sustain life or endanger life if it fails.