Arduino mill and RAMPS 1.4 What software to use?

I am basically new to the Arduino world. I can execute basic commands like making things blink or tripping a relay. What I am attempting to accomplish now is a 3 axis cnc mill. After a bunch of research I decided that the Mega 2560, RAMPS 1.4 shield and StepStick stepper drivers. I did buy the SD add-on for the RAMPS board. Making use of it would be nice but at this point I feel that leaving it out would be fine. I am not confident in my own abilities at this point to code modify for use if that was required.

Now that I have this stuff I am finding that I overlooked the fact that all the documentation I found was for 3d printing machines not for material subtraction. So I am stuck and am looking for guidance to make this work. I am hoping to do this all in open source and run under the windows environment.

So I am stuck on two questions...
What G-code interpreter/uploader I should use? or does it really matter?
What firmware do I need to put on my mega to use the RAMPS board?

What G-code interpreter/uploader I should use? or does it really matter?

The G-code interpreter is the same if it is removing material or adding it. What changes is the G-code generator.
The same goes for the uploader.

What firmware do I need to put on my mega to use the RAMPS board?

Any software that will drive it. I believe there is a ramps software on the rep rap site but most can be configured to drive it. Just look at the configure page of the software and get the # defines right for your board.

I have written some stuff in processing you might like to look at, you can run the processing language on any platform:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Mac_Apps/Processing.html

It was to go with this project:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/CNC_Conversion.html