Arduino Nano + CAN-BUS

Hello,

is it possible to use a Nano to read and write some telegrams from can-bus in the use of a can-bus tranciever and canbus controller f.eg. MCP2515 and MCP 2551, as shown in this schematic:

I searched through the forum, but didn't find a answer for my question, especially if it can work with a nano. The problem is, that in the mounting place, there is not much space for the electronic.
I'm a electronic technician and from industrial automation i have a big knowledge of the CANbus system, but not about the arduino's. A friend of me, is playing around with nano's at very low level, but couldn't help me. Thankyou for any help.

epku

Nano use the same MCU as UNO, ATMega328, but in different package (QFN vs DIP), no other differences in hardware or software. Just check the pinout (google "arduino nano pinout") and make the relative connection. Software is the same for both.

Cheers, Ale.

Also the Arduino Due already has a 2 port can-bus controller built in.

Also the Arduino Due already has a 2 port can-bus controller built in.

.. but is way bigger than the Nano and @epku said

that in the mounting place, there is not much space for the electronic.

So go with the Nano, it's a fine little MCU which I use very often in my projects.

rpt007:
.. but is way bigger than the Nano and @epku said

So go with the Nano, it's a fine little MCU which I use very often in my projects.

The shield is for a Uno not a Nano.

@ieee488:

you are right, but the TO didn’t say that he will be going with the SparkFun shield. He was only referring to the schematics.

So he can go with a Nano, and built a shield or an extra adapter board with same hardware as the original can-bus shield. This has already been done by somebody else in this forum:

Here is the link which also includes some useful information about the required library.

rpt007:
@ieee488: