Arduino Nano Every becomes non-responsive after a couple weeks

I've been using Arduino Nano and Nano Every devices for several years I mainly use them connected to relays to turn 110 volt power on and off. Anyway, after a couple weeks, and sometimes several weeks, the device appears to stop talking. As though it's unplugged. The COM port in Windows appears disconnected or non-responsive. The problem is resolved by just unplugging the Arduino and plugging it back in.

Unfortunately, with Covid, I work remotely and am not able to unplug and plug in my Arduinos.

When working, I send a command via Serial over the COM port to the Arduino and it responds when successful. I am wondering if there is a way for the Arduino do a self diagnostic to detect if it is still connected to the COM port and talking like it should.

Is there some 'loopback' test call I can make every couple hours from the Arduino to detect that it's still able to talk to the computer?

Furthermore, once I detect a failure to communicate, is there a way for the Arduino to power-cycle itself and re-establish connection?

Any assistance here will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks !!

You could connect a hardware watchdog to the reset of the Arduino.

Google watchdog timer

You might be having a problem in software such as a unsigned long variable overflowing.

Maybe you are using String which can cause memory corruption.

Does a second Arduino do the same thing ?

There maybe a noise source nearby that is causing disruption.

Maybe your power supply is iffy.

Curtis63:
When working, I send a command via Serial over the COM port to the Arduino and it responds when successful. I am wondering if there is a way for the Arduino do a self diagnostic to detect if it is still connected to the COM port and talking like it should

Perhaps it is a Windows problem?

...R

As Robin2 said it is likely a Windows issue. Here are a few things you can look at.