Arduino Nano & Uno - Digital Input pin current more than 50mA

Hi!

I feel kind of stupid and really don't know where to ask for help. I have been playing with Arduinos for 8 years, and now I am stuck with such a weird problem.
When I configure digital pin as an input:

pinMode(2, INPUT_PULLUP);

then at first glance stuff works. Only my Arduino gets hot. Too hot. And so, I ended up measuring digital input pin currents. If D2 is connected to GND, to logical 0, Input sources currents excess 50mA Up to 83mA. How could that be? And it is the same in Nano and Uno. Used different versions. Both chinese and original boards. All behave the same.
Also when pin is configured:

pinMode(2, INPUT);

then, to get logical reading "1" from that input, D2 draws again more than 50mA from 5V.

Then I noticed that my I2C interface is working ok. I configured Analog input to digital input:

pinMode(A0, INPUT_PULLUP);

No excessive currents, stuff works fine with internal PULLUP and without.

I was using. 1.8.7 and updated to 1.8.8 - still the same.

It looks like there is some configuration error with input pins. Output mosfets aren't programmed to be closed.

Has anyone nooticed that? Or I am just stupid and did not read instructions well?

Please provide schematics how you measured. An input pin with internal pullup, shorted to ground, should draw less than 0.1 0.25 mA.

It is possible that you have blown up pins with ESD. But the likelyhood that that happens on multiple boards is low.

Other possibility is that D2 was configured as output in a sketch and you shorted the output (to Vcc or GND) before uploading a new sketch. So the old sketch was initially still running and you damaged the pin on the microcontroller.

To avoid all bad schematics problems, I just configure:

pinMode(2, INPUT_PULLUP);

and then connect D2 to GND.

Current from D2,D3,D4,D5 to GND is around 80mA.

When I do the same with A0,A1 pin, everything works ok. Current from A0 to GND is 0,14mA