Arduino newbie needs advice on port for comms with ks0108 glcd

Hi all,

This is my first post, so first I should introduce mself. I am new to Arduino but not new to microcontrollers, basic electronics or programming. My first Arduino, a Nano 3.0 will arrive shortly (I like to prototype on breadboards).

For my first project (after making an led blink) I have a circuit and some working code to port over from another type of uc. I need more speed and am hoping Arduino will provide that because the language is compiled rather than interpreted.

This project involves a graphic lcd (128x64) with ks0108 controller(s). With my current uc, I am using an entire 8 bit port to transfer data, plus 4 other lines for control. I am aware there is a library for this type of lcd, but I don't need to draw text or circles, I just need bit/pixel level access that is fast and efficient.

Once the prototype is working on the nano, I would like to use the nano as isp to move the code to a 28 pin dip atmega328 for the finished article.

Looking at the available ports on the 328, I can't see one where all 8 pins are available and not used by other critical functions like serial programming/debug, crystals etc.

So I need some advice as to feasability and the best approach to take please.

Thanks,

Paul

My advice is first make it work, then find whether it is fast enough, then (if necessary) look for ways to make it faster. By the time you're hitting the hardware ports directly you're losing a lot of the benefit of the Arduino framework and runtime library, and you should only resort to that if and when necessary.

Thanks for the response Peter. To "first make it work" I am going to need to find some approach or other. How would you suggest I organise comms between the nano and the lcd? The data my code will generate is already in the form of packed bits which I need to turn into pixels.

Hi again,