Arduino Novice looking for help on outdoor temperature reader project

Hello,

I am new to Arduino but would like to design a project.

My project idea is as follows...

-I would like to have a microcontroller outside of my room with a temperature sensor
-I would like to take a reading of the temperature
-I would then like to have the board relay that information to a board inside of my room
-I would like that board to then take that input data and display it on an lcd screen

I am not exactly sure what parts this would require. I am assuming 2 microcontrollers, an lcd screen, and an ultrasonic sensor? Is there anything I am missing?

Any advice on parts, or how to start the coding for this project would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

What is the ultrasonic sensor for? Is the connection between the Arduino boards wired or wireless? There are lots of temperature sensors available. Analog (LM35) or digital (DS18b50) are popular choices with guides and example code available for both.

groundFungus:
What is the ultrasonic sensor for? Is the connection between the Arduino boards wired or wireless? There are lots of temperature sensors available. Analog (LM35) or digital (DS18b50) are popular choices with guides and example code available for both.

My goal is to make them wireless so that the sensor can be outside of my room and the receiver can be inside of my room. I plan to 3d print a mount for the sensor in my room and a housing for the outdoor board to protect it from the elements. My goal is to be able to simply see how warm (and ideally how humid) it is outside when I first wake up.

A DHT22 is an inexpensive temperature and humidity sensor that is widely used with Arduino. It is a bit more expensive than the DHT11 but more accurate. For wireless it is hard to beat the NRF24L01 transceivers. Robin2 has written a very good tutorial on their use.

groundFungus: