Arduino Novice; Writing Hardware Drivers & Sample Code; Initial Guidance Needed

I am in the middle of a project that combines hardware design and software to operate that hardware. Please do not ask for all the specifics as it is proprietary. I will provide as much as I believe is needed and as I can. The hardware has been designed and tested with another PIC device (PICAXE 08M2). No hardware problems were apparent, so that part of the design is fairly fixed at this point. One of the goals of this project is for the hardware to be as universal as possible as regards the micro controllers/PICs that it can operate with. Hence, I am now tasked with the job of writing driver and demonstration software for additional devices and the Arduino is next on my list. I have an Arduino Uno to play with but the code I come up with should be usable with as much of the Arduino line as possible, with the least amount of modification.

In addition to being a complete novice with the Arduino, I am also a beginner with C++ code. I am currently on about page 85 of a Dummies book on it. Probably going to take me another week or so. Also looking up things on the internet and asking a question or two on a C++ BB. Hopefully I will be able to avoid some stupid questions on basic C++ symtax, etc. But I would like to ask some general questions so that I can better determine the rough course I need to follow in doing this. This will help me to focus on the parts of the C++ language that are more important in this task. And also to choose a good general approach.