Arduino on any microcontroller?

Hi Arduino fans! I've been using Arduino for a few months now, I have just registered here on forum and this is my first post. Phew! :)

I'm doing a lot of electronics projects with different kind of microcontrollers and hardware.

In a desire to get up and running quickly with my prototypes and proof-of-concepts, few months ago I started wondering if it would be possible to run Arduino sketches and libraries on one of the controllers I'm using right now. Being a creature of action, I took the Arduino source (https://github.com/arduino/Arduino) and spent a few days to adapt it to compile and run on that controller. That's nothing really new, there are ports to controllers other than avr/stm out there already.

What is different with this one is that I also went that extra yard or two and made that port of mine, well, portable. I added hardware abstraction layer which is essentially a list of chip specific functions ("board API") you need to implement together with some mapping structures and startup code.

Once you do that, running Arduino sketches and using libraries is a copy-paste operation, provided those sketches and libraries don't use any avr/stm specific constructs.

So far I used ADXL345, BMP085, L3GD20, LSM303, PWMServoDriver, TCS3472S libraries from Adafruit (and their boards) with no changes to code at all, and a few others I scavenged from Sparkfun and some other places.

There are a few things left to do and, knowing me and myself, in order to get it done I have set up a kind of accountability countdown: an Indiegogo campaign (http://igg.me/at/arduino-xc). You can tell I spent about a day to create it, right? :)

No need to pledge to any perks, just watch that countdown if you are interested in this Arduino flick, and once campaign is over I'll have Arduino-XC source ready on github and you can download it and play with it.

Cheers!