Arduino or basic stamp

For my senior design project to graduate college, I am going to be making a microcontroller drive a few relays, a solenoid and maybe a few other devices. Inputs to the system will be some motion sensors, and maybe a signal from an RFID reader. I am an electrical engineering student, and while i have taken a class in C++ programming, that was a long time ago. The two controllers that I have been looking at have been the Arduino and the Basic Stamp. I am unsure which one to get for my project, and was wondering if i could get some help in deciding.

I would say Arduino. Better support, cheaper chips and much more functionality.

On a price/performance basis the Arduino wins hands down in my opinion. However both would probably handle your application as it does not sound like it needs top performance. So it my come down to your willingness to refresh your C/C++ knowlege or if you think that the Basic programming language would be quicker for you.

Again I vote Arduino. :wink:

Lefty

I use basic all the time with my ubw32, its much more of a pain in the ::slight_smile: than c for anything but the most simple programs

I would use arduino, the language is more flexible, not THAT much more difficult if your just starting one over the other, its cheaper, more powerful and if you get sucked in the language can get real at any point for complex situations

remember were using a boiled down noobie friendly system that happens to be in C, not the other way around

Last I checked, if you want to program the Basic Stamp you have to program without procedures or functions, and work with only a few dozen bytes of RAM (depending on model).

The educational resources available for the Stamp are great, but programming it for any sizable project is a challenge.

Something else to keep in mind is what your platform for the software development end will be; if it will always be Windows, then great, Parallax’s offerings will probably always work for you.