Arduino & Peltier Temperature Device Help

Hi guys, I'm very new to electronics and coding in general, so struggling with a Uni assignment a bit.

I'm attempting to create a one off device that allows you to touch and feel the current temperature of a location specified by my code.

In addition to the tactile feedback, I also want to create a visual feedback through 4-8 RGB LED's that change colour depending on the temperature range.

I have most of the components, which I'll include below, but I'm struggling to begin the build process of the project.

I've used the below article to connect my peltier to my arduino. But I'm struggling to figure out how to connect my temperature gauge so that I can test degrees accuracy. Also how to hook up an RGB LED to show the changes in degrees, courtesy of my temperature sensor.

I'm loathe to accidentally fry my board or any other components, so if anyone could give me a hand it'd be very appreciated.

As mentioned, I'm very new to this, so if it's a simple and possibly stupidly obvious solution, bear with me.

Thank you.

Peltier Article: http://garagelab.com/profiles/blogs/how-to-use-a-peltier-with-arduino

Components:
Freetronics EtherTen (Arduino Uno R3-compatible with Ethernet)
12V Peltier Module
12V Fan w/ Copper Heatsink
IRLB8721PBF N-channel power MOSFET - 30V / 60A
5mm LED RGB - Common Cathode
20 Value Resistor Kit
7805 +5V 1A Voltage Regulator
12V Powerpoint Supply
Prototyping Breadboard (30slots)
Female to male, m to m, f to f headers.

If you want to both heat and cool the touch surface then you need to be able to reverse the current flow (i.e. you need an H-bridge AKA "motor controller"). And mind you it doesn't take much current at all to detect the change in temperature on a peltier; with even a single AA battery you'll quickly notice the temperature change. Also, I'll wager that your 12V peltier is capable of much more power than you'll ever need; you should drive it with a lower voltage supply.