Arduino PID Temperature controller

Hi everyone, I just want to say that I'm very new to all this, and only recently found out about Arduino. It's all very exciting and exactly the kind of project I want to start.

So on to my project...I want to create a more refined version of a standard PID temperature controller similar to the only design I can find anywhere. (Check out: PID Controllers : Auber Instruments, Inc., Temperature control solutions for home and industry)

Those are made in the US but there are ton from China. Anyways, they all look the same and aren't the most user friendly. What I would like to do is use a rotary encoder and Graphic LCD to create a simple user interface where you can select a temperature via the encoder and set it by clicking the encoder. The LCD would show the current temperature as well as the SET temperature. The temperature would be picked up by a K type thermocouple and I would want the Arduino to control a nichrome heating element that uses 120V and 3amps.

I don't want to use a separate power supply to the arduino than to the heater. That's the part I'm most stuck on. Mos of the choosing stuff I'm thinking I can figure out. I've gotten separate components to work on the Arduino so I think I will be okay on that. But I haven't quite figured out all the parts I need and exactly how to wire everything.

What I have now:
Arduino Uno
Max 31855k Thermocouple amplifier
Rotary encoder
Graphic LCD
Four digit 7-Seg displayLCD (hoping it will be simpler to start with)
Thermocouple K
10a Solid State relay

I really hope I can get some answers from those more experienced or any one with a similar project. Also sorry if my post doesn't make sense in parts, I typed this all from my phone since my laptop is currently inoperable lol.

As with any project, the best way to start is to break the project up into small projects that will each have an end result.

as I see one way of doing your project,