Arduino PIR-relay setup turning on at random times.

All,

I am new at programming an arduino, and I thought I had all of my ducks in a row on the sketch I did. I am wiring halloween props using a PIR sensor connected through telephone cable to the Arduino nano in a box with the single relay module board. The PIR is a standard 5-12v pir that is receiving 4.68V (tolerance is 4.5V) of input power. I checked all of the soldering connections for shorts, as well as the wires. I have the sensor connected to the A0 Pin, and the relay to the A2 Pin. The problem I am having is that the sensor goes off at different times, and now not at all. In addition, it sometimes goes off without the sensor attached. Am I not defining the pins correctly? I tried to make this work last year, but gave up and now I am trying to get it to work this year, as I have had more time to troubleshoot. Any help would be appreciated.

Below is my sketch:

int relay = A2; // the pin that the LED is attached to
int sensor = A0; // the pin that the sensor is attached to
int val = 0; // variable to store the sensor status (value)

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(relay, OUTPUT); // initialize LED as an output
pinMode(sensor, INPUT); // initialize sensor as an input
Serial.println("Initializing Sensor");
delay(60000);
// Serial communication for debugging purposes

}
void loop(){
val = digitalRead(sensor); // read sensor value
Serial.println(val);
if (val == HIGH) { // check if the sensor is HIGH
digitalWrite(relay, LOW); // turn Relay ON --------This may be inverted for some controller units already made (High)
Serial.println("Relay On");
delay(1000); // delay 1 second
digitalWrite(relay, HIGH); // turn Relay OFF --------This may be inverted for some controller units already made (Low)
Serial.println("Relay Off");
delay(10000); // delay 10 seconds
}
}