Arduino PLC; couple of ideas

Hi.

This is the beginning of a long message to describe what to be the perfect arduino for me ! :stuck_out_tongue:

First, I want to drop out a couple of ideas to help developing a new PLC board base on Sam3x.

I can't design it myself for 2 reason: one I don't own a full version of eagle so the board will not fit in the free version, second, I'm clearly not competent! :stuck_out_tongue: I'm an electrician that learn a basic of programming for fun.

That said, I looking for a board that is versatile, easy to program and powerful in automation and control application. So I own an arduino DUE and use it for a while. It is a lot of i/o and programming is fun. But with Ethernet shield, communication is quite slow. and I thaw that it will be great to have all feature in the same board, without sheild.

Then I saw pic micro's and specially mikroe.com/picplc16
At first, it look so perfect; on-board ethernet, 485, 232, 16 relay, 16 isolated DI, and those ports! for what is missing, they have add-on !!! then back to reality... It was so badly design. heaven 485 and ethernet can't work together without conflict.

So, came back studying arduino, and, reading the data sheet, I notice the ethernet pins that was not used in arduino due and start searching for info and learn that it was once on project...

Finally, my thinking process lead me to this message to suggest the perfect arduino PLC that I can think of...

Now the goal is to be versatile, powerful, and cheap. So probably some feature I suggest could not be possible for that last reason.

Start with arduino due basic design. add it is builtin Ethernet and sd card. I know palliser, Graynomad and other have work on it... but it have been a while. Hope there is development.

next, I would keep only arduino UNO pin headers, for shield compatibility (explain my point later).