Arduino Powered Show Control (SMPTE Phase)

Hello Community!

I work in theater. I'm a technician and work heavily with pyrotechnics, atmospheric effects, lighting, and sound systems. The world of show automation and show control systems is an expensive one, which is often dominated by systems that are capable of far more than what a show needs.

I'm looking to build Arduino powered, custom show-control systems for my needs. I figure this is possible with the use of many existing entertainment protocols, and implementing Arduinos into this field. By utilizing Serial comm, I think it's possible to send serial data from a control booth to Arduinos programmed on stage.

My first step is to create a simple SMPTE LTC generator. I need to create a LTC Signal that the arduinos on stage will receive. The importance of LTC is the ability to automate other functions of a show, such as lighting and digital audio controllers.

The problem is that I'm not a great programmer. I have scoured the internet looking for examples of how to create an LTC signal using Arduino. (SMPTE LTC is an industry standard that calculates times in Hours:Minutes:Seconds:Frames).

SMPTE LTC is predicated on sine waves, so it's essentially digital outputs. I'm thinking that it's possible to generate the signal directly from any digital I/O pin, and have it amplified externally.

Has anyone ever come across any LTC projects that involve the generation of time code? I've seen several decoding projects, but I lean towards hardware and adapting a decoding sketch to an encoding sketch is a monumental challenge. My goal is to build and publish. I'd like to provide back to the community with completed projects.

If anyone is able to help, I'd be ever so grateful. I've looked into this before but now have the time and ability to invest in this project!

Thanks, MonorailOrange

Hi, Sounds like a great project.