Arduino powering dc fan with relay

Hi,

I’m relatively new to Arduino and electronics so please bare with me.
I’ve designed a circuit that runs the ATMega328P chip and two DC fan’s from a 12V DC power supply, it all works fine but every now and then when I switch off the power supply I see a false interrupt occur on the switch pin, like a spike and then it blows the transistor that controls the relay.

I think it’s a very basic circuit, but something is fundamentally wrong here.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I’ve included the diagram of the circuit.

Thanks.

basic controller.pdf (33.8 KB)

There is diodes (anode to negative) in parallel with fan-motors?

Hi, looking at your circuit, D3 and D4 in the diagram are the wrong way round, they will not conduct to supply the relays, they are not necessary anyway, D1 and D2 do the protection required.
Place a 10uF capacitor in parallel with C2 at the voltage regulator.
Place a bypass cap across the supply pins of the CPU chip.
What is your 12V supply?
You need to hold RESET pin high with 10K resistor to prevent reseting due to noise.

Tom....... :slight_smile:

Thank for the replies.
My 12V power supply is a AC/DC wall adaptor that provides 12VDC 1.2A.
I will try out all your suggestions and test it

Thanks again.

TomGeorge:
Hi, looking at your circuit, D3 and D4 in the diagram are the wrong way round, they will not conduct to supply the relays, they are not necessary anyway, D1 and D2 do the protection required.
Place a 10uF capacitor in parallel with C2 at the voltage regulator.
Place a bypass cap across the supply pins of the CPU chip.
What is your 12V supply?
You need to hold RESET pin high with 10K resistor to prevent reseting due to noise.

Tom....... :slight_smile:

Thank you for all the suggestions.