Arduino Pro Micro not running code

Hi there,

Very new to the world of Arduino and programming in general so please do go gentle with me!

I've got an Arduino Pro Micro (was listed on eBay actually as an Arduino Pro Micro Leonardo, not sure if that was right or not though?) and I've placed a very very simple (told you I'm a beginner!) programme on there to basically play a scale of notes out via MIDI.

This all works fine if I use a USB lead to power the board but now I want to power the board via a PSU so that I can use the USB socket on the board as a MIDI input for the project I'm attempting.

I therefore attached a 5V PSU to the RAW and GND pins of the Arduino board (also tried the VCC pin for positive but had read that RAW is best incase the PSU isn't regulated. Pretty sure it is a regulated supply but tried both pins anyway.)

Powering the board up in this way makes the red power LED on the board come on however the programme doesn't run (or perhaps something else is going on) and I can tell as for each note that plays in the programme I made the board flash the TX / RX LEDs alternatively however these never light up and no MIDI is being sent from the board.

Basically is there something I'm missing as this is a really really simple hookup or at least I thought it was going to be!

I really thought I'd just be able to power up the board using a PSU (5V) and everything would power up and run just like it did when the board was plugged in by using the USB lead instead.

Please could someone tell me what rookie mistake I've made as I'm not finding much on the internet about how to power them up other than by using the USB socket which I can't do as I need that to plug my MIDI device into.

Many thanks in advance for any help with this. I'm sure it's going to be something really silly that I'm missing (hoping it is anyway!) so any help anyone can pass my way would be greatly appreciated.

Best wishes,

Mark