Arduino + Processing + Pachube

Hi, I'm a complete beginner with the Arduino but I like the idea of being able to share data online. I'd like to tinker and make a thermometer, GPS locator, home energy meter etc. (basics, but that's where I'd like to start until I find my feet).

I found a tutorial (here) which links up the Arduino with Processing and sends the data collected to Pachube.

I have followed the instructions in part one to the letter.

The problem is the console in Processing is showing continuous values of 0.0, rather than changing values according to light on the LDR. I tested the simple circuit was working by following the Analogue Read Serial tutorial on this site on my Arduino - the values changed whenever the light in the room changed. So if the circuit works, I've downloaded and installed the library, uploaded Firmata to my Arduino, put the code as written in the tutorial into Processing (and tried changing the port value, to see if that does anything, which it didn't)... what am I doing wrong that the values won't change in Processing like they do in Arduino?

I'm running a Mac OSX and using an Arduino Uno, if this helps. Hope this all makes sense!

I have no idea if my board is broken or what. Please help :frowning:

I would be willing to pay for an arduino tutor via Skype, if anyone is interested.

EDIT: PM me if you are interested :slight_smile:

I have followed the instructions in part one to the letter.

Please post the code you use (use the # button to provide code tags) there can allways be an error/typo.