Arduino - Processing - Web Interface - Historical Data Trending

I am relatively new to using Arduino. I am looking for anyone with experience using arduino basically as a datalogger for the various analog/digital I/O. I am trying to design a small scale anaerobic digestion / solar hybrid system (off-grid) using arduino as the brains. The end goal is to provide a web interface where a user could view historic trends of the various process parameters and make changes to system operation inside same GUI. I am thinking of using MySQL, Apache Web Server on Ubuntu, Processing, and Arduino together to accomplish this. I am unsure of how exactly these things would work together.

Maybe the MySQL database is unnecessary and everything could be stored on the SD card of the ethernet shield? I am inexperienced in the web-server aspect of this task and I am looking for a little guidance or recommendation.

So you want to build the following "pipeline":

sensors --> Arduino --> ethernetshield --> PHPform --> MYSQL DB --> presentation --> user

A good place to start us to add a LCD to the Arduino to show locally the values of the sensors. That is

sensors --> Arduino --> LCD

if that works start with designing the database (be prepared for multiple Arduino's) and the presentation of the data

Then Add the PHP form to fill the database, initially manually.

Then add the ethernetshield to fill the phpform automatically.

An alternative is to look at pachube as this has automated the back end ...

So is Processing taken out of the loop in the “pipeline” you suggested? I have never programmed in PHP and I have limited experience in Java.
1st pipeline - sensors → Arduino → ethernetShield → PHPform → MySQL DB–> presentation → user
How is the presentation portion of the pipeline created? Does the PHPform create the HTML page that the user would use as an interface?