Arduino programming

Hi, I am fairly new with arduino. I have a indexer device that has a "Next" key on it which can be controlled by giving power input in a 8-pin mini DIN port. I already got a 8 pin mini DIN to USB cable, an elego arduino board and a usb host shield. What i need to do is, make a program in Visual Studio C++ that will controll the next key. As in when i press a button on my VS C++ program, it will activate the NEXT key and go to next step then stop. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance

You have not provided nearly enough detail to be able to help you.

What is the purpose of the mini din to USB cable - is it something specifically manufactured for your "indexer device". What is it intended to connect to at each end? How are we supposed to know?

You need to post a link to the datasheet or user-manual for the indexer device.

What is the intended role of the USB Host shield?

What is the purpose of Visual Studio C++ - that is not the normal way to create an Arduino program.

A diagram of how the proposed system is intended to work would be a big help.

...R

Thanks you so much for replying. As I mentioned, I am fairly new. I could not figure out how to write the questions with enough detail. I apologize for that. Page 8 (highlighted area) of manual will give you a overview of the Indexer operation. I am also uploading an amateur level schematic of the system I want to have. Visual Studio C++ is important because I do not have labview. I only have Visual Studio available. Anything that would give me an interface with a press key would work for me.

Manual.pdf (1.19 MB)

Schematic.pdf (132 KB)