Arduino Project Suggestions - Measuring Angles Between Sensors

Dear all,

I'm currently doing a project in which I have to calculate the angles (and later the distance) between two sensors (see attachment), and I have no good idea on how to approach this. I have some experience with Arduino programming/software/hardware, but still consider myself to be a beginner (compared to the awesome projects on the interwebs).

My first objective for the project is to measure the side angle of patients dealing with neck problems, with two different sensors (see image). As it will be a wearable, I'm thinking about using a Lilypad Arduino, conductive thread, and different sensors (possibly IMU's http://www.adafruit.com/products/1714 as they will be pretty accurate and convenient, if I'm right).

Imagine that people can move their head forwards keeping their body still, thus, changing the angle their neck makes. I have to be able to measure and map the position of the neck (first only from the side, later maybe also from the back, to make sure the neck spine is held straight as well). But when the entire angle of the body moves, I still have to know the angle that the two sensors make.

So far, I've heard that flexible sensors could do the job (although they can be very inaccurate), but my best bet is on using IMU's (but they tend to drift over time, and need to be calibrated/reset).

What would be the best way to approach this project? What and how many sensors do I need in order to have accurate readings? Can it be done by using just one Lilypad? Are there any suggestions?

Thanks for your help!

Gr Crimson

IMUs cannot be used to accurately track positions; here is an explanation for why not: http://www.chrobotics.com/library/accel-position-velocity