Arduino project to count objects moving on conveyor belt (production line)

Hello everyone,
First of all I am new to Arduino and I'm European so please excuse my poor english.
I work in the I.T of a plastic bottle production industry and we need to install a system to monitor the industry's production. The bottles go through a conveyor belt, one by one, at low speeds, usually maintaining a small distance between them. There are 4 different machines. Every machine produces a specific type of bottle, but the color and opacity may differ. We would like to have the ability to access the data remotely any time and also save this data and keep stats. My thinking is : I should install an arduino unit with a sensor (?) on every machine and set up a local server. I have watched a lot of videos of similar projects but I am not sure if the equipment used on these projects would be appropriate for my project. So my first question is : What kind of sensor should i use? An ultrasonic? A photoelectric? Keep note that the width of the conveyor belt isn't large (approximately 25-30cm), so I can place the sensor relatively close to the bottles without a problem. Can i use the usb port to power the unit or will I need an external power supply?

Powering by the USB will work fine.
An IR transmitter reciever could work.

savvas144:
usually maintaining a small distance between them

How will you distinguish one bottle from another in those cases where there is no distance between them?

Perhaps you could mount the sensor at the level of the necks of the bottles (assuming they have necks) ?

...R

"usually maintaining a small distance between them" ... this where you are out of luck with a simple approach. Usual way to do this: mount a camera above the belt, facing staight down. Use OpenCV to detect bottles. Use optical flow to get belt speed. A raspberrypi with camera module can do it at ease.