Arduino randomly resetting - Car Battery

Hey guys, This is my first time on the forum, so I hope its the right category.

So, I have this project called CarPi https://github.com/Littlejd1997/CarPi), which uses a raspberry pi, connected to GSM (ATT), and pulls music from spotify, then it processes it, plays it out my car speakers, and lights up my car which has about 10 meters of LED strips in it. It all works wonderfully.

Right now, the rpi gets the music, processes it, then it commands an Ardunio Micro over the serial pins to adjust the lights (PWM & transistor) accordingly. I was using serial over USB, but I switched to using only the headers to power and communicate. Now, almost completely randomly the arduino will reset. My guess is because of the electrostatic noise with the car battery.

Any thoughts?

If you need more information let me know

Thanks,
Jon

This is my first time on the forum, so I hope its the right category.

It’s not, so let’s try moving it.

My guess is because of the electrostatic noise with the car battery.

The what?

I switched to using only the headers to power and communicate.

Expansion required.

Does the car 12V go through a regulator or converter of some kind to power the 3.3V RPi?

Just how do you power the 5V Micro?

How much current do you run through the Micro? What powers the leds?

Resets will happen when voltage drops below 4.5V

Resets will also happen on most crashes, like in RAM when the heap and stack collide.

That's all the guesses I can make based on the clues you've given.

AWOL:
It's not, so let's try moving it.

Where would you recommend moving it to?

GoForSmoke:
Does the car 12V go through a regulator or converter of some kind to power the 3.3V RPi?

Just how do you power the 5V Micro?

How much current do you run through the Micro? What powers the leds?

Resets will happen when voltage drops below 4.5V

Resets will also happen on most crashes, like in RAM when the heap and stack collide.