Arduino 'Rapid Development' Panel.

Hello All, I am rather new to Arduino (and this forum) but not necessarily new to electronics. Anyway, enough about me, I had an idea for a Rapid Development Platform. I came up with this idea when a Danger-shield and Lexan Mounting platform I ordered from Ada arrived. I like aspects of both and thought about expanding both.

Basically this would be a sheet of lexan with an Arduino UNO mounted on it. This sheet of lexan would also include a raised panel/enclosure mounted to it within which would have mounted a large variety of switches, buttons, lights, sensors, etc. This is not a shield, so all Arduino headers would be available for use (or for other shield). All panel items would be ran out to easy-to-access female headers. Also on the sheet of lexan would be a large array of breadboards for adding more to the circuit. I also envision a row of screw terminals ran to header pins in case you wanted to tie in to the outside world for something. The idea behind all this is, if you are just trying to work out something quick in code and you need a switch, or a pot or whatever, you would have quick and easy access to add one in to your circuit without running around trying to find hardware. Another use for this would be for people new to Arduino (such as myself) to have a wide variety of components to jump right in and start playing with, not unlike the old '200 in 1 electronics kits' I had as a kid from Radio Shack

So far off the top of my head, the items I am thinking of putting on the panel would be as follows...

Inputs: 1x Rotary Encoder 1x Positional Enc 3x Pot (10k) 3x Slider Pot (10k) 3x Toggle Switches* 6x Push-button Switches* 1x Rotary Switch* 2x Analog Sticks 1x LDR

Outputs: 3x RGB LED* 4x 7 Segment Displays* 1x Piezo Row of Screw Terminals

*All switches and LED's would have appropriate pull-up/limiting resistors

Other: Array of Breadboards (thinking 4-6 Full Size boards) Row of Screw Terminals