Arduino RFID (Parallax?) Project  - Advice Wanted

Hello all,

I'm new to Arduino and RFID but I'm not new to programming, microcontrollers, and breadboarding/soldering.

I'd like to purchase my first Arduino for a project where I can use an RFID keyfob to unlock a door (to start), but I'm not 100% sure on the details of how the arduino works with the RFID.

As I understand it, there's a popular 'Parallax RFID reader' that the arduino already has sample code to work with. Any idea if it would work with my existing RFID keyfob, the http://www.hidglobal.com/prod_detail.php?prod_id=22? I read that there's at least two basic models for the RFID keyfobs and they're completely incompatible with each other.

I'm hoping to get my current RFID keyfob to work (though it's not an absolute requirement, it just saves me time) but that also means that I have to be able to figure out its ID#. So I assume that I just need to hook up the arduino to an LCD and RFID reader and have the code on the arduino display what ID# it sees?

Then, assuming I want to start out basic and only check against the single RFID that I have, just add that number to a 'if true' statement that would perform the required mechanical action?

So far I'm looking at getting an Arduino, Parallax RFID reader, LCD arduino screen... and that's about it. I'm sure I have most of the 'basic electrical components' that I would need, wires/resistors/etc.

Any advice, insight, links, etc, that people can offer me would be appreciated. I'm not looking to get super complicated on this yet, I'd be happy with just ordering the basic parts that I'll need.

RFID chips have specific frequencies. Whether yours is compatible with the Parallax reader, or not, I don't know.

So I assume that I just need to hook up the arduino to an LCD and RFID reader and have the code on the arduino display what ID# it sees?