Arduino Serial Connection

Hi,

I am new to arduino to arduino connections and have been reading on serial and I2C protocols. I am trying to obtain a sensor signal (say a photoresistor) from one arduino, and transmit this signal to another arduino so it can be displayed in the serial monitor. The problem im having is that the signal appears on the serial monitor as weird characters. I understand that you cannot simply send the analogRead(A0) value using serial.Write as it is not a character. But when i try to convert it into a character, it doesn't work and just displays weird characters. Could someone explain the procedure i should take to get the photoresistor signal from one arduino and display it on the serial monitor of the other arduino using either I2C or Serial Transmission. Thank you very much

My sender code looks like this:

char str[4];

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
int value=analogRead(A0);
itoa(value, str, 10);
Serial.write(str, 4);
Serial.println("");
delay (500);
}

im not sure what to do with the receiving code though...

I tried developing this receiver code which initially outputs data for like the first two values and then just outputs zero:

//Receiver Code

char str[4];

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
int i;

Serial.readBytes(str,4);

i= atoi(str);
Serial.println(i);
delay(500);
}

I also tried printing the character directly but this resulted in weird characters being displayed in the serial monitor:

//Receiver Code

char str[4];

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
int i;

Serial.readBytes(str,4);

Serial.println(str);
delay(500);
}

From Reply #1, this

void loop() {
  itoa(value, str, 10);
  Serial.write(str, 4);
  Serial.println("");
  delay (500);
}

should be the much simpler

void loop() {
  Serial.println(value);
  delay (500);
}

If you do that, does it help deal with your questions in Reply #2.