Arduino-Serial DC Motor Control ?'s

I’m super sorry if this is posted somewhere else but i need to ask this quickly…
I am a real beginner to arduino, and a really new member to the forum
I used BASIC before hand and have a little programming knowledge; currently i have an UNO set up with a Motor-shield V3 to control two DC motors with the serial monitor. All i know how to do is set the motors to HIGH or LOW, not to control their speed, so that is the first issue. Second, how can i send data as i type it, as in “Go Forward until W is released” + can someone help me look for redundancy in the coding?
I’ve included my code

//MOTOR CONTROL
int dirA = 12; //Define Pins To Control Motor
int dirB = 13;
int speedA = 3;
int speedB = 11;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); //Serial Comunication at BAUD of 9600
pinMode (dirA, OUTPUT);
pinMode (dirB, OUTPUT);
pinMode (speedA, OUTPUT);
pinMode (speedB, OUTPUT);
} 

int Forward(){
digitalWrite (dirA, LOW);
digitalWrite (dirB, LOW);
digitalWrite (speedA, HIGH);
digitalWrite (speedB, HIGH);
}

int Reverse(){
digitalWrite (dirA, HIGH);
digitalWrite (dirB, HIGH);
}

int Left(){
digitalWrite (dirA, HIGH);
}

int Right(){
digitalWrite (dirB, HIGH);
}
int Stop(){
digitalWrite (speedA, LOW);
digitalWrite (speedB, LOW);
}

void loop(){

if (Serial.available() > 0) {
int inByte = Serial.read();

switch (inByte) {      //following are subroutines for their corresponding function

case 'w': 
Forward();
break;

case 's': 
Reverse();
break;

case 'a': 
Left();
break;

case 'd': 
Right();
break;

case 'q':
Stop();
break;

default:
digitalWrite (speedA, HIGH); //All of This is Just to Say STOP the Motors

} 
}

}

I would love a bit of sample code to help me get started
Thanks

Also, is there a way to shrink the code?

Hit modify, select the entire code and press that # button in that toolbox above your message.