Arduino Servo freeze

I'm having an occasional issue with my project which uses several high power servos. I have the servos on a separate power supply with more than enough amps to power them. The arduino is powered via USB and has a common ground with the power supply.

Initially things worked correctly but when I added some extra servos and had a few of them drawing more current together, they occasionally freeze once the power draw goes to around 5 amps. Frustratingly, it's not every time. If they don't freeze in the first minute, they seems to be fine but occasionally the first initial surge of current freezes them until I unplug and reconnect the arduino USB. The power supply should be good for at least 20 amps so I don't think that is my issue.

I'm guessing it could be noise affecting the signal lines? I tried putting a ferrite choke on the cable but this doesn't seem to do much. Are diodes my answer? I'm a total electronics beginner. Can anyone help? :frowning:

Since you have not supplied a schematic or any code, people can only guess.

If it were a power issue, your arduino would reset. Does it? Do you have debug statements coming out to the Serial Monitor?

If you are drawing lots of current, your driver board and/or servo could be shutting down due to over temperature. Are they getting hot?

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the post at the start of any forum , entitled "How to use this Forum".
OR
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html.
Then look down to item #7 about how to post your code.
It will be formatted in a scrolling window that makes it easier to read.

Can you please post a copy of your circuit, in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg, png?

How have you got your gnds connected, are you using heavy enough wire to power the servos?

Thanks.. Tom..... :slight_smile: