Arduino shields addressing and limits

Hello all,

I am very new to the Arduino game, although I have lots of experience with hardware programming at the 8086/80386 level. I have some extremely stupid questions that I didn't manage to find a clear answer online. Would you mind wasting a minute on these? Also I'm not sure I posted in the right part of this forum, apologies if not.

*** bus connectivity ***

The arduino main boards all have some kind of pins for connectivity with add-on "shields" (that I like to call daughter boards). The daughter board is alway stacked right on top of the main board, and most daughter boards have pins that transforms into sockets on the other side of the PCB. Hence I assume that one can stack daughter boards one on top of another. Is that correct?

If so, how are the different daughter boards addressed? Is it some kind of simple address+register protocol similar to the ISA bus that was very popular back in the '80? What is the limit of daughter boards that could be stacked on top of a single main board? Let's assume that I would like to build a router of of an Arduino board, by starting with an Arduino Uno and stacking up 4 ethernet "shields" on top of it. Would that work? Will the eth library figure out which interface is which?

*** hardware ***

My understanding is that Arduino boards come in a variety of shapes and colors, with each potentially using a different SOC. Hence I would think that there is no binary compatibility between the various Arduino boards, and everything must be recompiled specifically for the target SOC each time. Does it mean that distributing an Arduino program or library in binary form is simply impossible?

*** documentation ***

Finally, what would be the best source for documentation about the Arduino hardware architecture, bus protocols that it uses, etc?