Arduino SIM900 spitting random numbers at me

Hello!

I'm new to arduino and everything related to it! I'm trying to use a SIM900 shield with the arduino. You can see the code and the monitor in my picture. It responds with a bunch of numbers which makes no sense. I'm trying to read my sms storage. Can someone give me some insight in what i might be doing wrong?

|500x271

This is the guide my seller provided http://wiki.epalsite.com/index.php?title=SIM900_Quad-Band_GPRS_shield

Best regards, Glutch

I can't read your picture. Can you possibly copy and paste the code and output where it is readable?

Don't forget code tags. Don't forget code tags. Don't forget code tags. Don't forget code tags.

Repeated to make sure you don't overlook it and try to inline the code and get it all messed up.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial Sim900Serial(2, 3);

void setup(){

Serial.begin(19200); // for serial monitor
  Serial.println("Setup started");
  Sim900Serial.begin(115200);               // the GPRS baud rate  
  delay(2000);
  Sim900Serial.println("AT+IPR=19200");     // Set the baud rate
  delay(500);
  Sim900Serial.begin(19200);               // the GPRS baud rate   
  delay(1000);
  Serial.println("Setup completed");
  delay(1000);
  Sim900Serial.print("AT+CPMS=\"SM\"\r");
  delay(1000);
  Sim900Serial.print("AT+CPMS=?");

}
void loop(){

//Sim900Serial.print("AT+CMGR=1\r");
   //Sim900Serial.print("AT+CMGL=\"ALL\"");

if (Sim900Serial.available()){
    Serial.println(Sim900Serial.read());
   }

}

There you go! :slight_smile:

Why do you have two begin statements with two different baud rates for the software Serial instance?

That had me confused too. But i’m just following the example provided

http://wiki.epalsite.com/index.php?title=SIM900_Quad-Band_GPRS_shield

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial Sim900Serial(2, 3);

void setup()
{
  Sim900Serial.begin(115200);               // the GPRS baud rate  
  delay(2000);