Arduino smart light

Good day! I’m fairly new to Arduino and me and my groupmates making a project: a smart lighting system using Arduino, LDR and a 12v fluorescent light (the tube) that has a varying brightness depending on the light intensity the LDR receives. We’ve researched about projects/studies about this and almost of all of them utilize LEDs because of the low voltage. So to improve it, we proposed using fluorescent light to brighten up a room. My concern is that, as what I’ve understood, the Arduino gives offs only 5v and it may not light up to its brightest. Can we use a converter circuit (5v to 12v) of some sorts between the Arduino (with the LDR) and the fluorescent light? Or could we just amplify the voltage using a battery? Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Your best bet would be to use a relay. You can get modules (like this) which are already designed and built to be connected directly to your board.

A fluorescent tube needs considerably more than 12V. A typical small fluorescent tube circuit that runs from 12V incorporates a high-frequency step-up circuit. It doesn't just take 12V and apply it to the ends of the tube. A 12V circuit that I made a few years ago for a 4W F4T5 (6" x 0.5") tube applies 154Vp-p to the tube. (Not a dimmable circuit.)

Dimming a fluorescent tube isn't as easy as simply reducing the voltage like you would in an incandescent lamp, either. And you'll never get the nice smooth transition that you get in an incandescent.

What sort of tube are you talking about, and what ballast did you plan to use?

Do you have a decent amount of electronics knowledge? Unless you have a ready-made module that can drive and dim a fluorescent tube, you're in for a bit of a steep learning curve.

Edit: You won't be able to power it from the Arduino's 5V rail. It will use too much current, even if it's only a little T5 4W tube.

hey DreamyCrown :)