Arduino stepper/servo control of generator throttle

I know this is an older thread, but is there anyone else out there who is trying to govern an engine that has no mechanical governor by using a crank signal and potentiometer as inputs and a servo to control the throttle? I have an old (~2006) Generac generator engine that I’m adapting to my zero turn lawnmower, and the engine is currently stepper controlled (5-wire so I’m assuming it’s a 4 phase unipolar stepper). I have other Arduinos, but I’m hoping the 328 chip will do the trick. If you could help me, I think it would help others who have failed/no mechanical governors. I’m fairly new to Arduino programming, but I’m trying hard to learn… PLEASE HELP!! :slight_smile: Thank you!!! :smiley:

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

1: Arduino Pro Mini 328 - 5V/16MHz

2: Reflective IR Phototransistor module for crank signal (digital signal output 0v, 5v) with
reflective tape to place on the crankshaft.

3: 10k Potentiometer to set/adjust desired RPM

4: Standard 5v 180 degree Hobby Servo to connect to carburetor throttle

If you know how to program, I would think the code could be quite simple using the servo library and mapping the potentiometer input. It’s a gasoline engine, so it will need to start out with the throttle open then close it as the RPMs come up, and I’m guessing it would benefit from PID or at least PI tuning. Could the Proportional and Integral be controlled by additional mapped Potentiometers to make such a device more universal and more easily adjustable? I found an EFI setup that used pots for PI tuning, but couldn’t find code… Any thoughts or input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again!!!

I can't see anything useful to your problem in the older Posts so I am suggesting to the Moderator to move your Post to its own Thread.

dodgenet:
and the engine is currently stepper controlled (5-wire so I'm assuming it's a 4 phase unipolar stepper).