Arduino Sync Error: Very Frustrated

HI, I've spent hours and hours on this problem and cannot seem to figure it out. Help would be GREATLY appreciated. THANK YOU in advance for any suggestions. I'll try to supply as much info as I can:

1) The specific error is pasted at the end of this post. Its the Verbose mode readout so I decided to post it at the end.

The basic error is: Binary sketch size: 1978 bytes (of a 32256 byte maximum) avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00 avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

I've recently built my own arduino using the ARduino Uno (Atmel328 chip) from sparkfun. SInce I have built it myself, the sync error is certainly possibly a hardware problem since I am new to electronics and may have constructed it wrong. but I have done a Loopback test and serial communication works when I remove the chip from my construction. I am using the FT232RL for serial communication.

LOOPBACK TEST: Completed with no problem

MY first question is if the loopback serial test suggests that my arduino build is ok? If not is there any way to test if I constructed arduino incorrectly?

COM PORT: since serial connection works with the loopback test, I believe this suggests that I am using the correct COM port. I have also checked that the com port is the same in the arduino software as in my Device Manager. In other words, I think that selecting the correct COM port is not the issue.

OPERATING SYSTEM: I have tried this with 3 computers. One uses XP, one uses Vista, and one uses windows 7. They all have the exact same problem.

WHEN I GET THE ERROR: I get the error when I try to upload the beginner sketches like the blinking LED. Sketches were never able to upload so its not as if this suddenly happened.