arduino syntax vs c++

hi, i'm very new to arduino and i'm trying to convert my c++ code into code that arduino can read.. it says "cin is not declared in this scope". so i was wondering what the arduino equivalent of cin is. thanks!

The Arduino is programmed in C++, you don't need to change any syntax to run C++ on Arduino. It's already in the right language.

But you do need to think for a second about what an Arduino is. It's just a little card with a processor on it. It doesn't have any screen or console, so there is no cout. Well, I guess technically there is, but it doesn't go anywhere. And it doesn't have any input devices so there is no cin. You have to come up with another strategy to get data into and out of the controller. Typically people use a serial connection between the Arduino and a PC.

Now if you want help with your specific code, you'll have to give us a chance to see it.

well for cout, i'm using serial.println, and i have a touch shield that'll be attached to the arduino later on

right now, i guess i'm depending on serial monitor to show me the input + output of my code

frustrasians: well for cout, i'm using serial.println, and i have a touch shield that'll be attached to the arduino later on

right now, i guess i'm depending on serial monitor to show me the input + output of my code

Exactly, so cout and cin aren't useful anymore. You'll be using Serial.print and Serial.read.

ah, okay thanks

this is basically what my setup looks like:

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); tone (pin, 30, 800);

Serial.println("a number");

x = Serial.read();

Serial.println("another number");

y = Serial.read();

Serial.println("last number");

z = Serial.read(); }

but in my serial monitor, it shows all 3 character outputs w/o letting me input numbers first; how do i change the code to show "a number" and make it wait for my response to display the text "another number"?

See Robin2's serial handling basics tutorial.