Arduino, time constant / precision for switching higher currents

Hi everyone

I'm new to the arduino world. I have a project in mind where I would need to feed a small solenoid with a defined (high) current for a very short time interval (in both directions). I was wondering regarding the limits to do so with the help of an arduino and MOSFETs. Can I switch in the range of micro seconds? If not, whats the smallest number which would be possible? Any idea on how the current signal would look like?

If it is too challenging, I could probably just discharge a capacitor loaded to a specific voltage? But then it will be difficult to precicely set the desired electrical charge.

Thanks for your help.

You can set an output, enabling the MOSFET, use delayMicroseconds(us) and reset the output.
You need to add some micros for the execution time for those code lines.

The solenoid takes lots of time to create the magnetic field. Much longer than a short pulse you are wanting.
Paul

Plus, the inertia of the solenoid prevents it from moving that fast. 1/10th of second will probably be foo fast for it.

And, this isn’t the issue, but each instruction takes a certain amount of time. I did an experiment once with an Uno once alternating high-low in a loop to see how fast it would go, but I’ll have to look-up the results.

P.S.
I found my results - With an Uno, if you write a high immediately followed by a low you get a pulse of about 3.3uS. That’s faster than I’d mis-remembered! :wink: That’s with C++ and digitalWrite(). You might be able to go faster with assembly/machine language (or with a library).

The solenoid will not have that much turns, maybe around 100 turns, certainly below 200. Inductance should be around 0.015 mH and time constant should be in the range of 5 micro seconds! I will have to experiment, but at least theoretically it should be like that.