Arduino to Android JY-MCU pairing but not working

Hi,

I recently started a project using bluetooth communication from an Arduino UNO to my android Droid Bionic and back. I’m new at this but I based everything I did off of a walk through guide found here http://www.instructables.com/id/Android-Arduino-Controlled-Projector-Screen/step6/Bluetooth-Circuit/.

Everything was working perfectly until it suddenly just stopped for no apparent reason. The only lead I’ve had in troubleshooting this problem was an error my arduino IDE returned once when trying to upload a sketch to the board. The error said something like “com 3 already in use”. I then re-installed the software and all was working fine again… or so i thought. Just to clarify, before that, data was being transferred with no problem, but it now seems to not be sending any data at all. Also, a test program that I was using to test my connection by blinking the on board arduino led no longer works for me as it did before, indicating no data being transferred at all, meanwhile my android phone is connecting and paired to my JY-MCU fine, indicated by the modules steady red light.

Why isn’t this working correctly?

Thank you

Arduino Test Code:
// Define Constants and Variables
const int ledPin = 13; // names the on board LED pin
int count; //counting variable for flashing LED
int state;
void setup()
{
// initialize LED Pin as output
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
// initialize serial communications:
Serial.begin(9600);
// set LED initial state as off
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
// write in LED state
state = digitalRead(ledPin);
}
void loop()
{
// check if serial data is available
if ( Serial.available() > 0 )
{
// write the serial command value
byte command = Serial.read(); // 1 = Blink Fast, 2 = Blink Slow, 3 = Led off
//read the LED state
state = digitalRead(ledPin);
// if the command sent is 1 and LED is off, blink LED fast
if (command == 1 && state == LOW)
{
count = 0; //reset count
while (count < 20 && command != 3)