Arduino to Arduino Serial

Hi

I am connecting two Arduino Uno boards together to send data from one to the other, The aim is to eventually have a wireless link between the two and to have a remote handset with four switches with the high or low being sent to another Arduino board and operating LEDs as an indication.

As i am new to programming i am struggling to get the two boards to send data from one to the other. I have connected the ground to both boards so that they are sharing a common ground, the TX pin is connected to RX on the other and vise versa.

Has anybody got some sample code that they can post to help me send the switch data from one board to the other.

many thanks

Tris

Post the code you have tried so far (use the #icon)

It is a simple matter of setting the two to the same speed and doing a serial write at on end an a serial available at the other followed by a read.
How are you checking if it is working, you can’t use the serial monitor while this is going on?

I have tried using the EasyTransfer library that i found from here - http://www.billporter.info/easytransfer-arduino-library/ but it is coming up with errors after importing the library, The errors are saying ‘no matching function for call to…’ amongst other issues

#include <SoftEasyTransfer.h>

/*   For Arduino 1.0 and newer, do this:   */
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial mySerial(2, 3);

/*   For Arduino 22 and older, do this:   */
//#include <NewSoftSerial.h>
//NewSoftSerial mySerial(2, 3);

//create object
SoftEasyTransfer ET; 

struct RECEIVE_DATA_STRUCTURE{
  //put your variable definitions here for the data you want to receive
  //THIS MUST BE EXACTLY THE SAME ON THE OTHER ARDUINO
  int blinks;
  int pause;
};

//give a name to the group of data
RECEIVE_DATA_STRUCTURE mydata;

void setup(){
  mySerial.begin(9600);
  //start the library, pass in the data details and the name of the serial port.
  ET.begin(details(mydata), &mySerial);

pinMode(13, OUTPUT);

}