Arduino to Commodore User Port

I'm brand new to the world of Arduino (and electronics in general), approaching from a background in programming

I'm attempting to interface a Duemilanove to the USER PORT of a Commodore PET 4032. Eight of the port's bottom pins interface with a MOS6522 VIA and act as a parallel TTL input (when the data direction register is configured as such). The pins are pulled-up while in input mode. To represent a logical 0, a pin is to be coupled to ground.

I've connected each user port pin to an Arduino digital pin (2 through 9). Writing a LOW to any one of them has no effect. Am I oversimplifying the interface? Do I need to throw a driver (a la 74LS244) between the PET's port and Arduino's digital pins?

Sounds like you neglected to connect the ground on the PET to the ground on the Arduino.

No, I did that. I neglected to mention it.

Writing a LOW to any one of them has no effect.

What do you mean by this? are you writing low from the arduino or from the PET?
Have you initialised the 6522 in the PET to be inputs or outputs?

If it's inputs have you tried just reading the port and putting a wire to ground on the input lines to see if you can read that?

You don't need any extra hardware but you will need some software.

Mike,

1. I'm writing LOW to the Arduino pins. They are configured as outputs and working fine, confirmed.

2. I've configured the data direction register on the 6522 to treat the user port pins as inputs.

3. Yes, I've tried grounding the PET's pins directly (both to the port's own gnd pin and the Arduino's two gnd pins, individually) and I can read the bit changes successfully. No problem there.

Perhaps the Arduino's io pins can't sink the user port's pins completely?

Perhaps the Arduino's io pins can't sink the user port's pins completely?

No defiantly not, the PET uses a CMOS interface chip that is nothing in comparison to what the arduino will sink.