Arduino to emulate HT12E Transmitter

Hi folks, I'm new to Arduino but have had some programming over the years.

I have set up a 433 MHz RF link using the HT12E encoder and HT12D decoder as a simple switch.

What I started with is using the Arduino to monitor 5 sensors and transmit a signal to turn the remote switch on for 1/2 a second. I used the RF link with the encoder/decoder chips as a dumb switch - which worked. I then realised that I could remove the HT12E encoder IC and use the Arduino to drive the RF [u]transmitter[/u] directly BUT the info in the PDF of the HT12E is not that helpful when it comes to the format of the code used. It says things like pilot period and sync period.

I only need it to send one packet of encoded data over and over for half a second.

I realise there is a HT12E library - but this is for the Arduino decoding data from a dumb keyfob encoder.

I have read the discussion on the HT12E but the code is not clear to me for a simple example.

HT12E Datasheet

Thank you for any help.

This is the only code I could find on doing this - and there must be a more basic version somewhere but after half a day looking I can't find it simplified.

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=54788.0

After more searching I have found a Blog with a tutorial on cloning a 433MHz transmitter, capturing the code and decoding it suitable to transmit again - http://arduinobasics.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/433-mhz-rf-module-with-arduino-tutorial_27.html

May help someone, but not what I was originally after. I'll have to work through it to get what I need because it is like making a radio to listen to morse code, then working out what what all the signals are, decoding it into something useful and then being able to transmit it - when all I wanted was a look-up sheet on morse code.