Arduino to power breadboard

Hello, This is my first post and I'm new to the (practical) world of electronics.

I have a very basic understanding of electronics like, P=VI, calculating parallel and series resistance, etc... But have never really put this understanding into practice.

I would like to start with simple circuits on a bread board.

Can I use the Arduino simply as a power supply for a breadboard? I figure, why deal with batteries or buy/build a power supply and then later buy an arduino, if I can buy the arduino right off the bat.

I'm also trying to decide if (when I'm ready), the raspberry pi would be a better option than the arduino. SO I guess same question for the raspberry pi. Can it be used purely as a power supply for a breadboard.

If it helps, I will start with simple analog circuits, maybe RLC filters, an LED circuit, etc...

TIA.

You can use the output from the Arduino 5v pin to provide a limited amount of power for a breadboard - say 200 - 300 mA.

If you need more power than that you will need a separate power supply. The ground from the separate power supply and the Arduino ground should be connected.

The digital I/O pins on the Arduino can only supply a max of 40mA and 20mA is more realistic. And I think the max for all digital pins must be less than 200mA.

If you want to use one of the digital pins to light an LED remember to include a current limiting resistor - anything from 470 ohms to 4700 ohms should be fine.

...R

Hi and welcome. Yes, you can power your breadboard circuit from the Arduino. But USB can only supply max 500mA, of which an Arduino like UNO itself will use less than 50mA. Thats still plenty for most experiments. Just don't go mad with dozens of leds!

I would recommend Arduino over RPi for simple experiments and learning, every time. I own both and don't use the RPi for much at all.