Arduino to start car with smartphone touch using NFC

Hello everyone!

I am tying to build a car starter using an Arduino, NFC Shield and a smartphone.

I want to create a spot in my dashboard that starts my car when touched by my smartphone.
Unfortunately have no idea how to do this because I am new to Arduino's.

I guess the best way to make this work is connecting a relay to my car starter, so when the Arduino detects my phone, it enables the relay, and when touched again, it disables it.

If possible, I would like to know what hardware I need to build this, and how to code it correctly!
I currently have an Arduino Uno Rev3.

I'm really hoping for help and looking forward to responses!

Thanks

Hi, it’s great to see projects integrating the arduino with a car.

First thing to consider is how new is your vehicle, and what does it require to engage the starting sequence. If it is a new vehicle the computer may need to detect the signal from the key or a certain resistance. You may want to see about a remote starter module that has a remote input wire that can be connected to a relay breakout board on your arduino. A basic remote starter with the remote input is the Avital 4103.

If you have an older car it will be a little bit easier. When the key is turned to each position it connects usually 3 to 4 circuits for the accessory circuit, ignition on circuits and motor circuits; as well as a momentary contact for the starter to engage. You would need a relay for each circuit, try a 4 or 6 relay board. When you integrate the arduino into a car keep in mind that it that for safety the car cannot be able to start in gear, your car could lurch into another car or pedestrians. So being able to detect the neutral safety switch position is important. Also, the arduino might not reliably start the car without knowing whether the car is running before disengaging the starter. By reading the tach signal from the distributor it could decide when to deactivate the starter relay.