Arduino TTL Oxygen Sensor Help

Hey, (disclaimer: I am relatively new to arduino and especially this forum)

I am attempting to use this oxygen sensor (http://sstsensing.com/product/luminox-optical-oxygen-sensor) with an arduino uno using a modified version of the ‘software serial’ example. I realized that the sensor uses 3.3V logic and the arduino uses 5V logic so I am also using this logic shifter (http://www.adafruit.com/products/757). Wiring wise, I’m 95% confident I am good and have checked it with a multimeter, but I am having zero luck with communicating with the sensor. Like I said I am very new to this stuff so I hope I am making a very obvious mistake. When I run the code below and open the serial monitor, I always get the y double prime outputting a char or 255 outputting a byte. The data sheet for the sensor seems very detailed as well.

Thanks in advance! This is driving me nuts! =(

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(10, 11); // RX, TX

void setup()  
{
  // Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(9600);

mySerial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() // run over and over
{
  mySerial.print("0x4F 0x0D 0x0A");

char data = mySerial.read();
    Serial.print(data);   
    delay(1000);
}

I always get the y double prime outputting a char or 255 outputting a byte.

That's what happens when you read a character that hasn't arrived yet. See if Serial.available () helps at all.

Hello Grchrin

The datasheet includes the following comment ...

Stream Mode (M 0): By default stream mode is initiated on sensor power-up and will supply an output string approximately once every second. This pro-vides the data for ppO2 , Temperature, Pressure, O2 and Sensor Status. The format is provided below, for more details on the Argu-ment see Table 2. ? “O xxxx.x T yxx.x P xxxx % xxx.xx e xxxx\r\n”

So without your program needing to send any commands, you should see a string of characters every second.