Arduino turn by turn navigation system

Hey Arduino community!

I would like to throw around the idea of a turn by turn gps using Arduino, powered by google maps. This idea came to me from from this video by jersagfast: http://youtu.be/qOs_LC-ObDo and from project Glass.

I am really fascinated by the idea of wearable tech and as a avid biker and tinkerer, i would like to make an arduino powered smart watch (powered by google maps) or, with ambition, my own Arduino-Glass setup for a helmet.

As I am no expert at Arduino, I am quite certain that a (single) Arduino is not capable of acquiring satellite information, then connecting with google maps, then downloading direction information, and finally, outputting such information. It would also need a method of inputting information (i.e destination/home).

I believe the best way to achieve turn by turn navigation and incorporate Arduino would be to use an android smartphone to retrieve the directions from google maps and using bluetooth, send the information to Arduino where it can be processed for output (i.e display or spoken directions).

Ignoring things such as a display to show information and speakers to make spoken directions and other do-dads for now, could this be possible using the Google maps api, Android, and Arduino alone?

Why do need Arduino for this? Doesn't android have apps to speak out the directions for you? I know AT&T wants to charge me $10/month for GPS capability on my Samsung GIII. I have GPS in my Jetta Sportwagon tho, and I had a portable Garmin GPS before that (with lifetime database subscription).

Its the idea of transferring information from Google Maps through Android to the Arduino that consists of my core question. I am aware smartphones can do everything we need and more but, wearables are growing in popularity and I would like to make an Arduino approach toward this new area of tech.

You got me there.
I don't know how you'd get the info from android.