Arduino Uno + Arduino Motorshield + Arduino Wifi Shield is this possible?

Hello,

I'm a newbie to robotics but I'm trying to create a rover-like robot that utilizes two motors. I'm trying to figure out if I could stack these three boards together, but I've been reading there is conflicts on pins 11-13. Is this true? is there anyway around this? Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm kind of in over my head at the moment.

Do you have this ? Arduino Uno R3 : http://arduino.cc/en/Main/arduinoBoardUno Arduino Motor Shield R3 : http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoMotorShieldR3 Arduino Wifi Shield : http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoWiFiShield

They share pins 11,12,13. So you are in trouble. The pins 11,12,13 are part of the SPI interface. The Wifi Shield uses that, and the Motor Shield should have used other pins.

You could change the Motor Shield, scratching some copper traces, adding a few wires. I know people who do that with smd components (not me). I think your best option is to buy a new motor shield, preferably a more modern one with mosfets.

SPI is a bus protocol. The chip select is pin -10 or any other pin. In other words "SS" is redefinable, MOSI, MISO, AND SCK should go to all the devices. I ran 6 SPI digital pots (4162-103/P) and 11,12 & 13 were bus to all the devices. My "SS" pins were 10,9,8,7,6,5 of the arduino UNO and everything worked perfectly.

Strangely I've seen a different motor shield also using these pins.

What you can do is to get an Arduino MEGA 2560. Its SPI pins are not 10-13 so there won't be any conflict. If you do this, and want to use the SD card, make sure you use the hardware SPI in SD library. If you're not using SD card, don't worry about it.

Its SPI pins are not 10-13 so there won’t be any conflict.