Arduino Uno as ISP for programming ATmega16-L (without bootloader)

I am a newbie . I have an ATmega16-L 8PU chip (40 pin PDIP) without bootloader. I also have an Arduino Uno rev3 board. But I don't have an AVR programmer and don't want to buy one. How do I burn the Arduino bootloader into the chip using the Arduino Uno board as ISP ?

I followed this tutorial --- http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard but I got this result--

avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA168 is 1E 94 06 Double check chip, or use -F to override this check.

I know that official Arduino boards use ATmega 168-A chip (Maybe that's the problem ?). But I didnt know that before buying the chip.

If not Arduino,will I be able to upload C programs on ATmega168-L using Arduino Uno board as ISP ??

Please Help..

I am a newbie . I have an ATmega168-L 8PU chip (40 pin PDIP) without bootloader. I also have an Arduino Uno rev3 board. But I don't have an AVR programmer and don't want to buy one. How do I burn the Arduino bootloader into the chip using the Arduino Uno board as ISP ?

I followed this tutorial --- http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard but I got this result--

avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA168 is 1E 94 06 Double check chip, or use -F to override this check.

I know that official Arduino boards use ATmega 168-A chip (Maybe that's the problem ?). But I didnt know that before buying the chip.

If not Arduino,will I be able to upload C programs on ATmega168-L using Arduino Uno board as ISP ??

Please Help..

I am a newbie .
I have an ATmega168-L 8PU chip (40 pin PDIP) without bootloader. I also have an Arduino Uno rev3 board. But I don t have an AVR programmer and don t want to buy one. How do I burn the Arduino bootloader into the chip using the Arduino Uno board as ISP ?

I followed this tutorial — http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard
but I got this result–

avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA168 is 1E 94 06