Arduino Uno + ATK-SIM900 Module - Unable to receive SMS

Hi All

I am new to Arduino platform and was playing around with the GSM module to send receive SMS.

The Hardware I am using-

1. Arduino UNO
  2. Alientek ATK-SIM900 GSM Module ( Not Shield)

The device works ok when I want to make a call from the module or to send an SMS.
BUT when i send an SMS from my phone to the module , I am unable to retrieve the contents or know if anything is happening. When I take the SIM out of the module I can see the messages that I sent are stored.

The messages are stored in the SIM card ( I have tried the phone memory storage too but to no avail)

I am using the Code from an example I got on the internet and it is as follows - In the Comments on the code you can see further description.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial mySerial(9, 10);  // tx,rx 
void setup()
{
  mySerial.begin(9600);   // Setting the baud rate of GSM Module  
  Serial.begin(9600);    // Setting the baud rate of Serial Monitor (Arduino)
  delay(100);
}
void loop()
{
  if (Serial.available()>0)
   switch(Serial.read())
  {
    case 's':
    Serial.println("S pressed");
      SendMessage();
      break;
    case 'r':
    Serial.println("R pressed");
      RecieveMessage();
      break;
  }

if (mySerial.available()>0)
 {
  Serial.println("Somethingggggggg is there"); // the only time i see this on the monitor is when i power off my GSM module
   Serial.write(mySerial.read());
 }
 else
 {
  //Serial.println("Nothing is there");
  }
}
 void SendMessage() // this function works and sms is sent out
{
  Serial.println("S pressed - IN"); // this is perfect
  mySerial.println("AT+CMGF=1r");   
  delay(1000);  // Delay of 1000 milli seconds or 1 second
  mySerial.println("AT+CMGS=\"+88012345566\"\r"); // Replace x with mobile number
  delay(1000);
  mySerial.println("texing from GSM module");// The SMS text you want to send  change any msg 
  delay(100);
   mySerial.println((char)26);
  delay(1000);
}